choosingmyownwellbeing

A woman letting go of a thirty-year marriage

I want an explanation

on March 23, 2014

ImageOh how I do try to release what was painful in my marriage.  But here comes the “but” that you knew would follow that statement: there is something I have yet to release.  An explanation I feel I am owed.

Almost a year into our couples’ counseling, my husband Roger began seeing another therapist one on one.  Throughout our marriage, this was one of my greatest wishes – that he would share some of his struggles with a skilled listener and get some helpful feedback.  In particular, I was hoping that some of the accusations he made repeatedly toward me, and some of what seemed to me like obsessive thoughts bordering on paranoia, could be aired, examined and maybe reframed.  Owned, by Roger.

I myself have received individual therapy twice, to resolve some old trauma that I knew was interfering with my functioning.  The first time was when my children were very little and I was experiencing gut-wrenching fear that someone would sexually abuse them.  I held an unfounded belief that because I had experienced ongoing sexual abuse as a child, I lacked tools to protect myself and my children would therefore have no self-protection tools.  And so I would have to protect them, every single moment of their lives, to interrupt the cycle.  I hovered constantly.

The second time was when I felt I was broken and needed to be fixed because I feel no love for my mother.  I look around me and see the beautiful love and devotion others including my own children, feel for their mothers and it really does feel like something is wrong with me.  My mother was a decent enough parent toward me, but I’ve witnessed her awful cruelty toward others, including two people I love deeply.  My mother was physically and emotionally abusive toward my sister all through her childhood and continues to find ways to wound her.  My mother cheated on my father.  She was in a big hurry to marry her affair partner and there were only a few legal grounds for a “quickie” divorce, one being cruelty.  Ever the gentleman, my father signed off on the divorce papers stating he’d been cruel to her.  It’s not so much that I can not forgive my mother.  It’s that she always blames the people she hurts, and successfully manipulated me for years so that she would continue to have a “loyal” daughter while she walked all over everyone else.  I had three years of therapy, which did not change my feelings for my mother, but helped me understand my own response to her toxic presence.

I’m a big believer in therapy.  I thought it might save my marriage, although I did suspect it was too late.  I had renewed faith when Roger started seeing his own therapist.  We were making significant progress in our couples counseling, but there were some issues that remained unresolved.  One had to do with a friendship I’d had with a co-worker almost thirty years ago, just two years into my marriage.

At the time, I was working as a darkroom technician, at a small company that produced photo and transparency murals for malls, restaurants and such.  It was very much a male-dominated work environment so I was rarely fortunate enough to have female co-workers. This was the 80s, when sexual harassment of young women in the workplace was just part of the environment, like the water cooler or the photocopier.  I remained professional but kept my distance from most of the men.

There was one guy, Dale, who came to work for the company very briefly, only about 6 months.  I kept him at a distance too in the beginning, which he thought was very funny.  Eventually, I began feeling safe around him and we would talk about the Toronto Blue Jays and music.  Roger and I had just bought our first home together and I shared my excitement about that with Dale.  I talked about my nieces and nephews and shared my dreams of being a mother soon.

When Dale left the company only a few months later, we would get together once every two or three months and have dinner.  We talked on the phone, with about the same frequency.  The last time we had dinner together, I was five months pregnant with my first child.  I saw him again when my child was 1 1/2, at a party at Dale’s parents’ house.  That was almost 24 years ago.  I have not seen him since.  Upon reflection, I do think he harbored some hopes that something more would develop between us and my kid was a reality check.  He pulled away.  I missed his friendship.  But I made so many new friends, mostly other mothers.  I no longer had very much in common with Dale.

Roger never mentioned any concerns about Dale while the friendship still existed.  He mentioned him once about a year after the last time I saw him and expressed insecurities.  I blew him off.  He mentioned him again about 15 years later, out of the blue, while we were having an argument.  Then he mentioned him every single time there was a conflict of any kind.  I offered a fuller discussion about Dale, during which I shared my hindsight that perhaps Dale hoped our platonic connection would become romantic.  I really hoped that level of honesty with Roger would help him see I had nothing to hide, and also hoped it would appeal to his ego, making him feel he had “won”.  What a mistake.

From that point on, Roger was obsessed with Dale.  I began walking away from him every time he mentioned Dale’s name.  I said I would discuss Dale in the presence of a trained professional only.

Of course Dale’s name came up in couples counseling and I welcomed the opportunity to state my truth.  Roger, it seemed, was anticipating hearing some kind of confession and when it didn’t come, he seemed to feel he was being made a fool in front of our counselor, for being so obsessed.  He spoke about a party the two of us had been to at Dale’s, while Dale and I were still working together.  He has memories of that party that have no basis in reality – at least in my reality.  Neither of us was drunk.  But Roger and I remember many of the events of our lives differently.  It’s a real conundrum for me, and I know it was for our counselor too.

For some reason, I had complete confidence that when Roger shared these stories in his individual therapy sessions, his counselor would ask some reasonable questions, like why the woman who had remained at his side for thirty years, bore his children and basically orbited around him, could not be trusted to speak the truth.  I was certain she would ask him to explore his own thought processes, and question why old history even needed a place in the here and now.

Roger reported that she’d said that I’d probably had good reasons for falling for Dale.  Something to the effect that these things happen and it’s not anyone’s fault.  From there, our couples’ sessions became increasingly painful.  Our marriage was in a worse place than when we’d started therapy.  Our decision to separate came soon after, in an honest conversation we had without our counselor, both realizing we were in too much pain to try to heal the marriage.  Our counselor then helped us separate.

I recounted this tale to my friend Trish, telling her I felt I was owed an explanation.  That either this therapist, or someone in the field should explain to me how the lies an obsessed man tells himself got validated by his therapist.  Trish says therapy can be misinterpreted.  She told me that one day her phone rang and it was the husband of her good friend, calling from a pay phone a block away.  He said his therapist told him he can have what he wants in his life, that he should go after what he wants.  And he wanted Trish.  Yikes.

OK.  She’s got a point.  Maybe I had too much faith in therapy.  There were so, so many reasons unrelated to this one issue, that Roger and I needed to end the marriage.  My primary tendency is to trust that we found our way to where we needed to be.  From that place, I can sort of see that it’s my ego that is outraged because it didn’t get what it wanted.  But every so often, I just feel that I’m entitled to that explanation.


11 responses to “I want an explanation

  1. I too am astounded at some of the advice therapists have been known to give, and I have been the ‘victim’ (for want of a better word) of that advice to my ex-husband. Almost as if he wanted someone else to give him the nod as to what to do, despite relaying untruths in order to get that go ahead. It amazes me that a professional therapist would take one person’s word as the truth and recommend a course of action with far-reaching consequences, changing the lives of so many people forever. The sad part is that the therapist could have been a great benefit if only digging a little deeper and uncovering problems within my-ex, that have not – strange as it may seem – “magically” resolved by him running away.

    • cathmae says:

      Funny how un-magical escapism is!

      To be fair to therapists, I guess they can only work with the person sitting in front of them. If that person is not really interested in gaining helpful insight into themselves and their relationships, they are sure to get their money’s worth.

  2. Bear in mind, you don’t know what your ex really said in his therapy session, AND you don’t know what the therapist said in response. You weren’t there. You only have the story as told to you by a man whose filter is set to make himself feel better and manipulate your emotions in the process. Maybe the counselor did ask reasonable questions, but they were in response to flawed information she was given from the start. I mean, if you said your ex has fixated on your relationship with Dale for the last…ten years? That it’s been used as cannon fodder in fights? And the relationship was clearly a thorn in his side for the entirety of its existence. To him, it IS still present, even if reality shows that your friendship drifted into oblivion 24 years ago.

    The best explanation you may hope for might be something like, “You’re both experiencing profoundly different realities. You may never make these realities jibe, because there’s too much baggage going on in the individual process of perception.” You want your ex to operate from a base of reason, and as far as you’re concerned, that doesn’t seem to happen. I think you need to let this one go, honey, because it’s not helpful for you either, keeping the Dale issue alive. If he doesn’t matter and hasn’t mattered (as far as you were concerned) in your marriage, then make him not matter. Stop being answerable for him. “In hindsight, he may have…”. What does that do for anyone, except justify your ex’s behavior on some level? And tarnish Dale’s memory in the process. He may have been a nice man and, simply, a work friend, who reached out to a lonely person working in an uncomfortable environment. Why look at his motives with a jaundiced eye, especially when you don’t have any evidence that supports something different? Your memories may have been colored by years of being told that he had an ulterior motive. Or, sure, Dale could have been dying with love for you and writing your name on his notebook, ringing it with hearts, just waiting for his opportunity to confess his true feelings. You. Don’t. Know. If he was doing that, you’re STILL not responsible for him, no matter how much your ex tried to emotionally beat you up about it.

    That’s not saying the therapist didn’t biff with how she handled your ex, because if he’s not being asked why he’s keeping a dead friendship that was never anything more than friendship alive, relevant and threatening then that’s a therapy fail. But. Therapists are human and flawed, and again, you don’t know what’s actually said in his sessions.

    For a while, I wanted an explanation from my (also manipulative) ex, as to why he was so hostile towards me, had pushed me away (not physically) and then resented me for guarding myself against him, why he resented things that were good for me (like going to college), and generally thought it would be OK to force me into his him-centric view of life. One day after we’d split, he said–about me, of course, “You know…you can try to train a cat to act like a dog. But eventually, that cat’s going to claw you and head for the door, saying “Fuck you, I’m a cat.”” I’ll never forget it. A few things went through my head. 1) Oh, so this was all some grand experiment? 2) So I’m a CAT? 3) Guess that beats being the dog. 4) I suppose this is the best explanation I’m ever going to get out of him. And 5) What would I do with more of an explanation, really? Would I never, never EVER go back? I was already doing that. Would I feel even more justified for leaving? I was already doing that, too. What would an explanation “fix”? Nothing, really. Needing an explanation only stalls your progress. I’ve always loved the phrase, “If you’re going through hell, keep going.” Just keep going to the other side of this, which is your own sense of resolution. Accept that you’re angry and disappointed and may never fully understand what went on in the entirety of the ex/Dale/therapist/WTF/holy pockets, my relationship magnificently fell apart- conundrum. And that’s ultimately OK. Your job, if you will, is to be introspective about the lessons you can learn from this and carry into your future life and relationship(s). What it is NOT is to be beholden to the skewed vision of a man who manipulated you for a long time. I GET that you’d like to hear him say, “Yeah, I really had a messed up perspective on that whole Dale thing, and in looking at the big picture I also had a flawed perspective on your motivation, and I’m sorry.” But you probably won’t ever get anything like that. The question then becomes: do you let someone else’s failures get in the way of embracing current joy?

    • cathmae says:

      Very persuasive arguments here for releasing this issue. And although I will likely never have more information about what was said, the likely explanation is that his therapist did NOT respond as he reports she did. Given his habit of misrepresenting me and my behavior, that just may be the explanation.

      Noooo, I don’t in any way entertain the possibility that my EX will ever say anything to me on this subject, that sounds different from what he’s already said. If he did ever admit to being wrong, he would say it was my fault he was wrong.

      It sounds like your EX is fond of speaking in clichés! Mine too! That drove me crazy! Most of the time, I had no clue what he was saying.

      • Ha! He didn’t speak in cliches so much as he got mired in his own web of “logic”. Ever the narcissist, he had an epic knack for self-aggrandizement, particularly regarding his mental prowess. And he would imagine these scenarios in which something happened and I turned on him, becoming a terrible wife/friend/confidante, unless I walked an incredibly straight and narrow line that only he could see, and whose rules changed according to the day and his fancy. Could you ever see that guy changing his perspective and coming to my side? That’s why the cat/dog story is so telling: he admitted to trying to compel me to behave against my nature, like he’s some weird circus MC and I’m the dancing bear. I think he thought he was being clever and making me the bad guy by throwing out the claw and telling him to fuck off.

        So yeah, forget what he said because you really don’t know how the session with the therapist went. And I said this to Elizabeth in the below comment but I’ll repeat this to you, too: a bad relationship doesn’t stop being bad because you’ve walked out the door. The tension may have eased because you’re not in each other’s faces every day, but the screwy dynamics still exist. That may never change as far as he’s concerned, but you can change yourself. You know I’m on your side!

    • Hello beyondpaisley. I really think this advice from you is really good advice (for me). One side of me is moving on valiantly with grace and dignity. The other side with a limp wrist is hoping and wishing he will come to his senses and apologize. That would give me closure. As you say, forget the apology, forget the closure and stop hoping he will some day see things from my perspective. Far better to just focus on me and move on.
      I LOVE the story about the cat / dog explanation he gave you. It probably was not funny for you at the time, but you telling it now with such humour made me laugh. Thanks.

      • Hi Elizabeth! You’re too kind, and I’m flattered. No, the cat/dog story wasn’t terribly funny at the time, but it was also a hard, fast wake up call and I was grateful for it. I still am, because that’s when I understood that even in the same relationship, people have wildly different motivations and perspectives, and it’s entirely possible that yours and the other’s will never stand a chance of meeting. OK. What now? I think we tend to look to other people for closure; we want to understand their behavior, we want them to get that they really, truly deeply hurt us, and we want them to be noble and life-affirming and take some time to grow as people. Maybe that will happen, but you can’t count on it. Bad relationships don’t stop being bad when you walk out the door. So if you want closure, you have to learn how to close the door yourself. And yes, focus on you and what you need. Living well and happily and authentically is better than waiting around for someone else to tell you that he’s misbehaved. You already know that. And when that need for an apology falls off the table and you realize you don’t need it anymore? Whoo! What a liberating feeling.

      • I think you are right. We need to channel our energy into our own needs and living happily and authentically. You are also correct that when I do that I stop craving that closure from him because suddenly I do not need it anymore.

  3. reocochran says:

    I think that your friend, Trish, was on the right path. I found that in couples therapy with my first husband, he was looking for validation for his own actions, Unfortunately, he did not learn a thing from that counselor and after a year of struggling with an alcoholic who was a ‘mean drunk,’ I gave him up. The counselor was very supportive and sympathetic. She even allowed us to meet a few times before our house sold and we moved our separate ways. Interestingly, when we see each other now, we can bring up lots of memories, his wife doesn’t mind and I say all kinds of nice things to my grandkids about the two of them. My grown kids (who were only 3 and 1 1/2) feel that he never changed and say they are so glad they didn’t have to be with him everyday! (He has been known to still drink three times a day, along with being unfaithful to his present wife. Both kids verified this at one time! Yikes! He was my college sweetheart of 4 years and then 6 years of marriage. Just a ‘bump’ in my road of life!) They say he “made a better weekend Dad.” I guess, the fact that your ex is dwelling on a simple friendship to me says he has guilt! He knows that he can reflect (or deflect) his guilt upon YOU! So mean! I would not let him get to you, my friend! Smiles, Robin

    • cathmae says:

      I have to admit, I do wonder if his suspicion was based on some guilt he was dealing with.

      It sounds like you did get some good help from your counsellor, even if your husband-at-the-time didn’t. He didn’t want help, did he? You did, and now you’re out of that mess!

      Thanks for the read, and for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a comment

Thirty Days of Autism

30 Days of Autism is a project designed to promote social understanding, civil rights, fight stigma, and increase understanding and acceptance for those who process and experience the world differently.

therobynbirdsnest

thoughts are ready to hatch

Restless Hands

a Not-Quite-Neurotypical perspective

thingsmyexsaid

Yep . . .That IS what he said.

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

museum of wtf

You can't make this stuff up, no matter how hard you try.

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Thanks, you've been great...

stories about people who have been a gift to me

Spring into Summer

finding my voice and speaking my truth

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

A "How to Thrive" Guide After Divorce

Jewels at Home

The Creative Life of a Mom and Scientist

The Wise One once said...

profound insights ~ divine wisdom

The Middlest Sister

There are 5 sisters. She's the middlest.

beyondpaisley

Empire of Groovy

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

It's a Wunderful Life

Life with Twins and Autism from a Dad's Perspective

stoppingpuncheswithmyface

Ever feel like things don't go as planned?